Science Committee

The Science Committee evaluates new scientific evidence about COPD care, and prepares updates to scientific reports on COPD diagnosis, management, and prevention.


Claus Vogelmeier, MD, Chair
Director, Internal Medicine Clinic
University of Gießen and Marburg
School of Medicine
Standort Marburg Baldingerstraße
D-35043 Marburg Germany

Alvar G. Agusti, MD
Director, Institut Clínic del Tòrax
Hospital Clínic, Universitat de Barcelona
Villarroel 170, 08036 Barcelona

Antonio Anzueto, MD
Professor Medicine
Pulmonary/Critical Care
University of Texas Health Science Center
111E 7400 Merton Minter Blvd
San Antonio Texas 78229

Peter J. Barnes, MD
Department of Thoracic Medicine
National Heart and Lung Institute
Imperial College, Dovehouse Street
London SW3 6LY United Kingdom

Jean Bourbeau, MD
Respiratory Epidemiology and Clinical Research Unit
McGill University Health Centre
Montreal, Quebec H2X 2P4, Canada

Gerard Criner, MD
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Department of Medicine
Temple University School of Medicine
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19140

Peter Frith, MD
Southern Respiratory Services
Repatriation General Hospital, Adelaide
South Australia, Australia

David Halpin, MD
Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital
Devon, United Kingdom

MeiLan Han, MD MS
Professor of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Fernando Martinez, MD
Weill Cornell Medical College
New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center
525 East 68th St, Room M-522
Box 130
New York, NY   10065

Maria Montes de Oca, MD
Hospital Universitario de Caracas
Servicio de Neumonología y Cirugía de Tórax, los Chaguaramos 1030
Universidad Central de Venezuela
Caracas, Venezuela

Alberto Papi, MD
Professor of Respiratory Medicine,
University of Ferrara, Italy

Ian Pavord MA DM FRCP FERS FMedSci
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
Respiratory Medicine Unit
Nuffield Department of Medicine
NDM Research Building
Old Road Campus
Oxford OX3 7FZ

Nicolas Roche, MD
Professor of Medicine
Respiratory and Intensive Care Medicine
Cochin Hospital Group, University Paris
HIA Val de Grâce 4e C
74, Bd de Port Royal, 75004 Paris France

Don D. Sin, MD
Professor of Medicine
St Paul's Hospital
1081 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y6, Canada

Dave Singh, MD
University of Manchester
Medicines Evaluation Unit
University Hospital of South Manchester
Foundation Trust
Manchester Academic Health Science Centre, Manchester, UK.

Rob Stockley, MD
Director of R&D and Consultant Physician
Lung Investigation Unit, Medicine
University Hospitals Birmingham
Birmingham, B15 2TH United Kingdom

Jadwiga A. Wedzicha, MD
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
Airways Disease Section
National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London,
Emmanuel Kaye Building,
Manresa Road,
London SW3 6LR UK

Joergen Vestbo
Professor of Respiratory Medicine
University of Manchester
Education and Research Centre
University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust
Wythenshawe Hospital
Southmoor Road
M23 9LT

M.Victorina López Varela, MD
Cátedra de Neumología
Facultad de Medicina
Universidad de la República
Hospital Maciel
Montevideo, Uruguay



GOLD Committee members disclose relationships (personal benefits, shares, and non-personal interests) with profit-making organizations in December of each year using the following definitions:

View Board and Committee Annual Disclosures